About Karen Fann

About Karen Fann

Senator Karen Fann (AZ-District 1) is a lifelong Republican, raised on conservative rural values by her hardworking parents, Jim and Sylvia Fann. She moved with her family to Prescott at the age of four.

Growing up in a family with a strong work ethic made it natural for Karen to start her own business. Karen launched Arizona Highway Safety Specialists, Inc.(AHSS) in 1984 – with just $500 of her own cash. Her drive and determination to succeed has turned today’s Arizona Highway Safety Specialists  into Arizona’s largest installer of roadway guardrails and signage. Owner and CEO Karen now employs 30 at her thriving business, and AHSS celebrated its 33rd  Anniversary in 2017.

Karen and husband Jim McKown also owned and operated the FANN-M Ranch for nearly a decade. The FANN-M Ranch, an equine facility, boarded horses and produced equine competitions. Karen and Jim also and worked closely with area 4-H Clubs and other nonprofits to organize and sponsor community fundraisers at the Ranch.

Prior to becoming a local business owner, Karen gained four years of experience in the legal field and ten in the airport/ airline industry; she later obtained her license as an Arizona Realtor. She is a licensed contractor with the Arizona Registrar of Contractors; past president of Yavapai County Contractors Association; and past president, Prescott Chapter, of the National Association of Women in Construction.

Her dedication to community led Karen to serve on numerous committees and boards, representing Central Arizona, as well as, the Town of Chino Valley, where she was Mayor for six years. Her four years of service on the Prescott City Council included Mayor Pro Tem.

Experience: Professional & Civil Service Highlights

18 years Public Service: AZ State Senate; AZ House of Representatives; Mayor; Town of Chino Valley; Prescott City Council; Area small business owner for over 30 years; Charter MemberChino Valley Elks; Charter Member Chino Valley Rotary Club; Chairman Central Yavapai Planning Organization (CYMPO); Upper Verde River Watershed Protection Coalition Chair, and the following appointed state committees:

House Committees: Chair Transportation,  Chair Insurance, Municipal Government, and Agriculture & Water
Senate Committees: Vice chair Transportation, Vice Chair Finance, Natural Resources and Appropriations

Recipient of over 35 Legislative Awards:

  • Legislator of the Year AZ
    Chamber of Commerce/AZ Manufacturing Council
  • Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce
    Centennial Award
  • Leader in Public Policy of the Year
    AZ Capitol Times
  • Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce
    Issue Champion
  • Woman of the Year
    AZ Rock Products Association
  • Legislator of the Year
  • Best Elected Republican Representative
    Capitol Times 2015
  • Senator of the Year
    AZ Technology Council
  • AZ Association for Economic Development
    Champion Award
  • MADD Arizona Legislator of the Year
  • Golden Apple Award
    AZ Parents for Education
  • Arts Hero Award
    Citizens for the Arts
  • AAA Legislator of the Year
    (Teenage Texting Bill)
  • Mountain Institute – JTED – CTE
    Policy Maker of the Year
  • AZ Bio Industry Trailblazer Award
  • AZ JTED Consortium Award
  • Americans for Prosperity
    Friend of the Taxpayer; Hero of the Taxpayer; Champion of the Taxpayer
  • AZ League of Cities and Towns
    Champion Award 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018